News & Events
| Impact Reports | Transportation | Directions | Contact Us

Upper Savannah COG Long Range Transportation Plan Amendment
FY 2019 Audit
2017-2022 Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy (CEDS)
2017-21 Upper Savannah Area Plan Revision



Upper Savannah was the first multi-county planning and development organization to be created in South Carolina and is now a part of South Carolina's 10 sub-state regional Council of Governments system. ( The Upper Savannah region includes six counties: Abbeville, Edgefield, Greenwood, Laurens, McCormick and Saluda. Upper Savannah serves as the umbrella administrative organization for regional activities, has city and county government representation and works closely with local, state and federal government agencies.

The Council provides a wide scope of services and performs many functions ranging from assistance to senior citizens and persons with disabilities through the Upper Savannah Aging & Disability Resource Center (ADRC), workforce development assistance for employers and job seekers through the Upper Savannah SC Works Workforce System, community development with a focus on infrastructure improvements and affordable housing programs, grant writing and administration, transportation planning, as well as loans to small businesses and other economic development activities for the purpose of saving and creating jobs. 

USCOG also identifies solutions and opportunities related to regional challenges and offers consultation and technical assistance to local governments on a day-to-day basis. There are 30 local governments in the region, including six counties and 24 cities and towns within those six counties.
Upper Savannah has an annual budget in excess of $10 million, including direct services funding, a 35-member Board of Directors, and a staff of 25 employed in six divisions.